An AVRISP mkII clone made out of Paper-PCBs.

The controller is a cheap ProMicro with the Atmel32U4 chip. The design is based on the Make the AVRISP mkII Clone from Arduino Leonardo / Micro by Kimio Kosaka.



Pro Micro Modification

TX Line Connection:
Solder a wire between the resistor of the TX LED and A0.

Close the Jumper:
The Chinese Pro Micro clones have a 5V converter on board. That means when powered over USB the Pro Micro runs on 4.7V. To close the jumper will avoid that (it´s next to the USB socket). But never power the Pro Micro over the RAW input again! Check the original sparkfun schematic for details.
In putting a little bit of solder on J1 of the Pro Micro Clone you close the jumper and bypass the voltage converter of the board.

Pin Out:



Connect an AVR programmer to the Pro Micro: +5V, GND, Reset, MISO, MOSI, SCLK.
! It should be the Reset pin on the Pro Micro board not the one of the connector !

With the Avrdude erase the Arduino Pro Micro:

$ sudo avrdude -p m32u4 -c stk500v2 -P /dev/ttyACM0 -e

Set the fuses like that: lowFuse 0xFF, highFuse 0xD9, extendedFuse 0xC3:

$ sudo avrdude -p m32u4 -c stk500v2 -P /dev/ttyACM0 -U lfuse:w:0xFF:m
$ sudo avrdude -p m32u4 -c stk500v2 -P /dev/ttyACM0 -U hfuse:w:0xD9:m
$ sudo avrdude -p m32u4 -c stk500v2 -P /dev/ttyACM0 -U efuse:w:0xC3:m

Burn the ATMega32U4-usbdevice_dfu-1_0_0.hex file on the Pro Micro. The file is included in the megaUSB_DFU_Bootloaders_2 folder:

$ sudo avrdude  -p m32u4 -c stk500v2 -P /dev/ttyACM0 -U flash:w:ATMega32U4-usbdevice_dfu-1_0_0.hex:i

Set Lock-Bits 0xEF:

$ sudo avrdude -p m32u4 -c stk500v2 -P /dev/ttyACM0 -U lock:w:0xEF:m

Run the Atmel Flip-Tools like it's described at Kimio Kosakas page.
Upload that file:

That's it!

Test it with an Atmega 328p:

$ sudo avrdude -p m328p -c avrispmkII -P usb -U flash:w:optiboot_atmega328.hex:i


The Arduino Pro Micro


Avrdude manual


The Paper-AVRISP mkII was designed by Wolfgang Spahn 2017.
It is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Creative Commons License